Cutting the Crease

Hey my loves!

When you think of cutting the crease – what celebrities spring to mind? For it would have to be Adele and Kim Kardashian –  as you can see below both Adele and Kim K nail it (or rather their makeup artists do ;)) – ranging from the dramatic to the soft.

adele

 kim k cut crease

Cutting your crease helps to really open up your eye and make it pop – personally this is my go to look for every day as I love how it makes my eyes appear bigger than they normally are. There are many ways to wear this look – for me I usually go more subtle. So I did a quick and easy tutorial for you – check it out and let me know what you think

~ Step 1 ~

Firstly I like to prime my eye using MAC’s paint pot in Painterly applying it with my Sigma P80 precision flat brush all over my lid and blending it up to my brow bone

prime

~ Step 2 ~

Then taking my MAC 239 brush eye shader brush, I use a combination of MAC’s Ricepaper and Retrospeck  and apply that all over my lid.

lid

~ Step 3 ~

Here is where I start to define my crease  – for this I use one of  favourite brushes by Sigma – the E45 small tapered blending brush. I find this brush is PERFECT for applying colors to the crease. The first colour I am adding to the crease is MAC’s Cork – using my E45 brush I apply it into my crease blending it out softly, using a windscreen wiper motion. Then repeating the same process but using MAC’s Quarry over the top. You should now have a nice light brown cut crease appearing. Depending on how comfortable you are you might decide to stop here and apply your liner and mascara – or you can follow my other steps for a more defined cut crease. 

crease 1

~ Step 4 ~

Taking the same E45 brush by Sigma I apply Oktoberfest – from my Coastal Scents 252 Ultimate Palette – and repeat the same cut crease motion as in Step 3 – but as you will see the crease darkens to a lovely rich brown.

crease 2

~ Step 4 ~

Again you could choose to finish it up here and it would still look lovely, however for me I wanted to add a pop to this crease so I chose to take Vibrant Red from the same Coastal Scents Palette  – and by adding that into the crease and blending with my E45 brush by Sigma, very thoroughly out into and just over the crease I get the colour effect I am after – a light red-brown combination which I believe helps make my eyes stand out (please excuse the uncombed brows).crease complete

~ Step 5 ~

Taking my E65 small angle brush by Sigma and Maybelline’s Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in Blackest Black – carefully line my lid, flicking it out only a little to create a suble cat eye effect.

cat eye crease

~ Step 6 ~

I Finish off my eyes by applying a few coats of Maybelline’s new Volum’ Express® the Mega Plush® Mascara in blackest black to my top lashes and just one coat to the bottom. HEY PRESTO we’re done!

cut crease final

So don’t be shy – go and give it a go! Once you’ve tried it a few times you’ll love it I’m sure 🙂 So hope you enjoyed and I would love to hear any feedback – especially if you gave it a go yourself 🙂

xoxo

Leave a Reply

